Press Release: Wall of Fame Induction Ceremony

On behalf of the Toronto Azzurri Soccer Club(TASC)and the Toronto Azzurri Soccer ‘Wall of Fame’ Selection Committee, we are very pleased to announce the 9 inductees that will be honoured in the 3rd Annual Edition of the TASC ‘Wall of Fame’ Gala Ceremony to be held at La PrimaVera Banquet Hall, 77 Woodstream Blvd. in Woodbridge, Ontario on Friday, April 12th starting at 6:30pm.

The Toronto Azzurri SC, founded in 1968, consisting of long-standing members of the Greater GTA soccer history, is proud to have initiated this important event in April of 2017. We felt compelled to recognize annually those individuals that have dedicated their time, leadership and resources over the past 60 years to the development of the game of soccer in our Community. It was decided to honour worthy inductees from the following categories:

  1. Builders/Pioneers
  2. Coaches/Managers
  3. Players
  4. Press/Media
  5. Toronto Azzurri Lifetime Achievement

To date, there are 21 inductees. We will be inducting 9 more on April 12th. They are:

  1. Builders/Pioneers- Basilio Policaro & Joe D’Urso
  2. Coaches Managers- Alberto DaRosa & Mario Perruzza
  3. Players- Paul Staltieri & Paul D’Agostino
  4. Press/Media-Alf DeBlassis
  5. Toronto Azzurri Lifetime Achievement-Tony Cipriani & Lucky Raso

Each inductee will be presented a personalized plaque(Picture & Bio) that evening and then in late May, we will have a brief ceremony at the Toronto Azzurri Youth Sport Village Clubhouse, when the 9 individuals will be formally inducted onto the Toronto Azzurri Soccer “Wall of Fame’. We should be proud of what has been accomplished. Today’s successes are a direct result of our past achievements.

Looking forward to a great evening on Friday, April 12th, 2019.

Toronto Azzurri ‘Wall of Fame’ Selection Committee– Nicola Sparano, Paolo Canciani, Carlo Delmonte, Orazio DeCiantis,Tony Cipriani, Robert Iarusci.
Toronto Azzurri Youth Sport Village-4995 Keele St. Toronto, M3J3B2