There will be 3 referee courses vailable in April/May. Instructions to register for a referee course…
- Log in www.refcentre.com/ontario
- Click on “Search by District” (centre box)
- From the drop down menu select North York
- A list will show the courses available
- Select the desired one and click “Register”
- Use provided code and fill out all the required information
- Once registered, you need to make arrangements to make a payment for the course:
- Over the phone with a credit card (Visa, Mastercard or American Express), or in person with a credit/debit card, in both cases, during business hours:
- Tuesdays and Fridays from 9:00am to 12:00pm
- Wednesdays and Thursdays from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
- By Interac e-mail transfer to this email: email@example.com
- Once payment is received your application will be approved and you will be able to do the pre-course requirements.
This is a question related to the throw-in. I have seen this called, and called it myself many times, but as I now look over the LOTG again, as well as advice, I find no backing for it. It could be that this is one of those that has historical significance and is no longer written, or I may have just been doing it wrong.
The LOTG states that a player must throw the ball with two hands, starting from behind the head. I have seen an addition, in practice, in which the thrower must throw the ball straight in the direction they are facing. For example, a red player taking a throw against blue team. Red player is facing towards blue team’s goal, but angles his arms during the throw to send the ball towards his own defensive player, the opposite direction that he is facing. I have also heard that it is illegal to throw the ball in a way that causes it to spin sideways. What is the correct ruling on this? I look forward to your answer before spring season starts in a couple of weeks.
Could you provide some examples of irresponsible coaching at the youth level (U8-U12) of soccer? I recently had a game that had 3 coaches for one team and two coaches for the other team. (Our league allows 4 coaches per team). Constantly throughout the game ALL six coaches would be hollering at the players providing DIRECTIONS on positioning and passing and anything else. The majority of the coaching rarely had any tactical instructions – mostly were the type of “pass now, why did you kick it with your left foot, what are you doing” type of directions. I stopped the game (after listening to them shouting for the majority of the game)and demanded that the coaches let the players play the last 4 minutes with silence from the coaches area. The coaches complied (what a relief!) and the game was ended 4 minutes later. After the game, one coach complained about my demand for silence and said “Where is it written down that I can’t shout instructions to my players?” I did not have a ready response to his question other than I don’t believe the coaching was positive, informative, or in the spirit of the game. I may have come on too strong for the situation, but I was so tired of their screaming at their players, that I felt something needed to be done. Maybe I was right and maybe I was wrong, but for 4 minutes the players played their own game and it was peaceful for the first time that game and everyone on the field had a good time. So, what constitutes irresponsible or inappropriate coaching?
There is an injury on the field, and the ball is kicked out of bounds, which stops the game.
The injured player’s coach comes on to the field, the other players all take a knee, some go toward the bench area for a drink and coaching instruction.
Play resumes with the team that had the injured player taking a quick throw in while the other team is out of position, resulting in an easy goal.
No whistle is ever blown to stop or re-start the play.
Is it legal to start the play after the injured player is attended to on the field without a whistle from the head referee?
The head referee stated to the coaches that since the play was stopped on a ball played out of bounds, he does not need to blow the whistle to re-start the play.
According to page 76 of the FIFA “Laws of The Game” a whistle is needed to restart play after an injury, but a whistle is NOT needed to restart play from a throw-in.
Which applies in this instance?
Thanks for your time and consideration.
USSF answer (October 8, 2009):
Continue reading “Whistle for Restart after following Injury”
I’m an assistant coach with a GU14 team. We were awarded a goal kick and my keeper setup the ball in our goal area very quickly. At this time there were players from both teams (opposing and ours) in the penalty area. I wanted my goalkeeper to do a quick restart because we had an advantage at midfield. But she waited until the penalty area was cleared of all players before taking the kick. My question is:
1. Could my goalkeeper execute a goal kick with players from the opposing team standing in our penalty area to gain an advantage for our team?
USSF answer (January 19, 2010):
Correct procedure for the goal kick requires that all opposing players be outside the penalty area when the kick is taken.
We suppose that your player could take the kick with opponents in the penalty area, but doing so might cause problems for all sides, including the referee and assistant referees. If the ball is played/contacted by anyone inside the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken because the ball is not yet in play (unlike the free kick where it is in play the moment it is kicked and moved) If the ball leaves the penalty area, is therefore in play, and then goes to an opponent who, at the time the goal kick was taken, was in the penalty area, play should continue (no matter where the opponent has moved to by that time)